Español  /  English  
Select Team:

       Home     News     Event Guide     Schedule     Standings     Players     Teams     Leaders     History     Road to Rio  


The FIBA Americas Championship represents the most important competition of the continent, bringing together the best basketball teams in the region. The origin of the American competitions is found in the dispute of the South American Championships since 1930 and the Centrobasket, born in 1965. Even further back, the first countries who competed internationally with their National Teams were Uruguay and Argentina, meeting first in Buenos Aires in December 1921, both later that year founded the South American Federation of Basketball, basketball’s first exclusive organization in the world.

This will be the 17th edition of the FIBA Americas Championship, which in its three first versions (1980, 1984 and 1988) ran only as a classifier for the Olympic Games. Since 1989, the dispute of the tournament was every two years, alternating also as a classifier for the World Championships. In the previous 16 editions, seven were in Central America, seven in South America and two in the United States.
In the history of the FIBA Americas Championship four National Teams have perfect attendance. They are Argentina, Brazil, Canada and Puerto Rico, the only teams that have participated in the previous 16 editions and will repeat in Monterrey. The detail is that Canadians are the only ones who have never organized the event.
Among the players there were several who gave their sporting life to the National Team and that allowed a constant presence in the FIBA Americas Championship. The players with the most disputed of the tournaments are the Puerto Ricans, Jose "Piculín" Ortiz and Jerome Mincy, with eight tournaments each, while the Uruguayan Gustavo Szcygielsky and the Venezuelan Victor David Diaz participate in seven.
Of all the great players who went through the FIBA Americas Championship just one experienced great satisfaction to have won as a player and as a coach: this is the legendary Puerto Rican, Raymond Dalmau, who won the title on the court in 1980 and giving directions on the sideline in 1989.
Of the eight countries that participated in the last edition in Caracas 2013, only three teams remained with the head coach. Five national teams changed their Head Coach, while Ruben Magnano of Brazil, Jay Triano of Canada and Nestor "Che" Garcia of Venezuela will repeat in their function.
The Brazilian Oscar Schmidt was one of the greatest scorers in the history of world basketball, he also left his mark in the FIBA Americas Championship. He led the scorer’s table in five editions of the competition, with a shocking final average of 29.8 points per game. In addition, he captured the continental title in 1984 and 1988.
The Head Coach of Canada, Jay Triano, also has a brilliant past as a player for his country. In his sporting career has three participations in the FIBA Americas Championship: 1980, 1984 and 1989. In all, he was the top Canadian scorer, averaging 19.4 per game.
United States, the great power of world basketball, will not be present in this edition of the Tournament of the Americas. The North Americans participated in nine of the past 16 previous editions, being crowned champion six times. In four of them they formed a team with NBA players (1992, 1999, 2003 and 2007) and won the title. Same thing happened in 1993 and 1997, when they build the team with players from the CBA, but failed in 2005. In 1989 they could not capture the crown, when they attended the championship with NCAA players, neither on 2001 when they presented a team of players from Junior Colleges.
Of the 16 different national teams who participated in the previous 16 editions of the Tournament of the Americas only five were able to celebrate the title of Champion: Puerto Rico, Brazil, USA, Argentina and most recently, Mexico. Four others, Venezuela, Uruguay, Dominican R. and Canada, managed to climb the continental podium. In total, the country with more medals achieved is Argentina with 11 medals.



2013  Mexico Puerto Rico Argentina
2011  Argentina Brazil Dominican Republic
2009  Brazil Puerto Rico Argentina
2007  United States of America Argentina Puerto Rico
2005  Brazil Argentina Venezuela
2003  United States of America Argentina Puerto Rico
2001  Argentina Brazil Canada
1999  United States of America Canada Argentina
1997  United States of America Puerto Rico Brazil
1995  Puerto Rico Argentina Brazil
1993  United States of America Puerto Rico Argentina
1992  United States of America Venezuela Brazil
1989  Puerto Rico United States of America Brazil
1988  Puerto Rico Brazil Canada
1984  Brazil Uruguay Canada
1980  Puerto Rico Canada Argentina


 Event Guide
 System of Competition

 © 2015 :: FIBA AMERICAS :: PO Box 8925 :: Fernández Juncos Station :: Santurce, Puerto Rico :: 00910
 Address :: 628 Avenida Escorial :: Caparra Heights :: San Juan, Puerto Rico :: 00920
 Phone : (1-787) 977- 4999 :: FAX: (1-787) 977 - 4007   Email: