Español / English  
The candidates for host of the 2015 FIBA Americas Championships are announced

San Juan, Puerto Rico - With the resounding success of the 2013 FIBA Americas Championships for Men and Women, FIBA Americas prepares for what will be the last Olympics qualifying continental Championship. Several countries expressed their interest in hosting the continent's most important championship.

"We are very pleased with the results of the FIBA Americas Championship in 2013. From the organization, to how competitive the historical tournaments were, both for us the International Federation and for the Continental Basketball," said the President of FIBA Americas, Mr. Horacio Muratore. "The 2015 championships will be the last Olympic qualifying continental championships, so we have already started to work on ensuring that we have the best FIBA Americas Championships in history. Today we announce the number of countries that have expressed their interest in hosting these important tournaments and we are very grateful for the interest and commitment of these National Federations."

For the 2015 FIBA Americas Championship submitted letters of interest the National Federations of Argentina, Canada, Mexico, Venezuela and Brazil.

The FIBA Americas Championship is the most important basketball competition of the continent that brings together the best national teams in America. The best of the best in the history of basketball have gone through this competition. The latest edition was held from August 30 to September 11 of this year in Caracas, Venezuela and four teams qualified for the 2014 FIBA World Cup to be played in Spain. The National teams that qualified were Mexico, Puerto Rico, Argentina and the Dominican Republic in that order. After two weeks of intense competition, Mexico won the Champion trophy for the first time in the history of continental competition, thanks to the great performance of the NBA player and MVP of the Championship, Gustavo Ayon.

Meanwhile, for the 2015 FIBA Americas Championship for Women submitted letters of interest the National Federations of Brazil, Canada and Mexico.

The 2013 FIBA Americas Championship for Women was held from the 21 to the 28 of September in Xalapa, Mexico and three teams qualified for the 2014 FIBA World Cup for Women to be played in Turkey. The qualified teams were Cuba, Canada and Brazil. Cuba was the surprise of the tournament and led by the Most Valuable Player of the Tournament, Yamara Amergo and Ineidis Casanova, the Caribbean team took the gold medal.

FIBA Americas


iPhone & iPadAndroid

Competitions Home
Upcoming Tournaments
FIBA Archive
Referee's Home
Referee Listing
Referee's Clinics Calendar
Referee Videos
Academy Home
What is the Academy?
Youth Coach Project
Certification Project
Academy Videos
Mini Basketball
About FIBA Americas
About FIBA Americas
Directive Boards

© 2015 :: FIBA AMERICAS :: PO Box 8925 :: Fernández Juncos Station :: Santurce, Puerto Rico :: 00910
Physical Address :: 628 Avenida Escorial :: Caparra Heights :: San Juan, Puerto Rico :: 00920
Phones : (1-787) 977- 4999 :: FAX: (1-787) 977 - 4007   Email: